The scientists have ascertained that the brain retains positive and negative memories separately

The scientists have ascertained that the brain retains positive and negative memories separately

Researchers from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the Japanese RIKEN Institute, have found out that different groups of neurons, which have a tendency to suppress each other, are in charge of good and bad  memories in the amygdaloid nucleus.

Positive and negative experience is retained separately.

The amygdaloid nucleus plays an important role in the mood formation. In this part of the brain the processes take part which, on the one hand, cause  pleasant memories, but on the other hand, are responsible for fear, aggression or disgust.

"Rigden: For those who do not know the structure of their brain, I shall note that the human brain contains two amygdaloid nuclei located on the right and on the left sides. This is a very interesting subcortical brain structure, which is related to the formation of different kinds of emotions.

Anastasia: Yes, as of today, science is already aware of the fact that amygdaloid nuclei are responsible for the human ability to read information from the faces of the people around. Thus, a person subconsciously understands how these people feel at the moment. But the information reading mechanism itself is still not entirely clear to scientists.

Rigden: Understandably, because this reading, like many other functions of the amygdaloid nuclei, is connected to the work of the lateral Aspects of man in his energy structure. In the physical body, the functions of amygdaloid nuclei are related to vegetative emotional reactions, provision of defensive behaviour, and motivation of conditioned reflexes."

From the book "AllatRa"

The researchers have conducted an experiment on laboratory animals. Some male mice in certain situations received a low current charge, forming unpleasant memories. Other animals were lodged with the females, allowing to experience pleasant emotions. Later on the scientists have studied the rodents’ brain work during  recalling events from the past.

It was found out from the experiment, that not only different parts of basal and lateral complex in our brain are responsible for good and bad memories but also signal paths, which re-lived these memories there. The gene ppp1r1b is responsible for the so-called “pleasure neurons”, while the gene Rpso2 is responsible for the “sadness neurons”. It is interesting that the scientists have found long ago a connection between positive pictures of the gene ppp1r1b whereas the gene Rpso2 has not been practically studied until now.

The amygdaloid nucleus has been well studied by neurophysiologists, but there are still many unsolved issues left. It is a paired organ, and there is an amygdala in each cerebral hemisphere. The amygdala has several cores: some of them are responsible for processing olfactory and gustatory information, while others regulate emotional behavior. There is also evidence that the amygdala is involved in recognition of emotional significance of the object and in distinguishing between favorable and dangerous situations.

Amygdala can be "reprogrammed" by means of meditations.

If a person is in a meditative state — the amygdaloid nucleus activity decreases. These data have been obtained through experiments, which involved people who have no experience of meditation.

In the first experiment, just after one week of practice — the activity of the right amygdala was reduced in response to the image with a negative connotation. People with a chronic anxiety were involved in the second experiment  . After 8 weeks of the meditation course the amygdala’s activity quickly returned to background state upon presentation of emotionally negative stimuli.

Even more interesting results were achieved during the experiments with those who practiced meditations for a long time. The more hours of practice a person had, the lower level of activation of the right amygdala was observed in response to a negatively directed emotional stimuli.

But what is surprising, in another experiment with experienced practitioners, in which people were asked to focus on emotional and negative incentives, there was no such a change in the functioning of the amygdala.

As a result, scientists have concluded that meditations do not only influence the person’s attitude to any negative impact, but rather change the whole emotional information processing system. In other words — people become more calm and imperturbable in everyday life.

Today, there is an evidence that the practice of meditation is effective in emotional control, as it allows:

  • to reduce the frequency and intensity of emotional reactions;
  • to reduce anxiety;
  • to increase resistance to stressful situations;
  • to develop tolerance to unpleasant stimuli.

This is not a complete list of the results that were obtained after the research. However, even based on the above-mentioned information it can be concluded that the practice of meditation is able to reduce emotional excitability, and the level of anxiety, stress and depression.

 

Have you found a misprint? Select fragment and press Ctrl+Enter.


It`s interesting 77

Subscribe



The scientists have ascertained that the brain retains positive and negative memories separately - Articles rating: 5.00 from 5.00 votes: 77
Related articles:


Leave comment
AllatRa.TV онлайн


Archive

Concept

Учёные выяснили, что мозг хранит положительные и отрицательные воспоминания раздельно

Учёные выяснили, что мозг хранит положительные и отрицательные воспоминания раздельно

Исследователями Массачусетского технологического института и японского института RIKEN было обнаружено, что за хорошие и плохие воспоминания в миндалевидном теле отвечают различные группы нейронов, которые имеют свойство подавлять друг друга.

 

Положительный и негативный опыт хранится раздельно

В формировании настроения миндалевидное тело играет важную роль. С одной стороны, в данном участке мозга происходят процессы, вызывающие приятные воспоминания, с другой, – отвечающие за страх, агрессию или отвращение.

Ригден: Для тех, кто не знает строение своего головного мозга, замечу, что в мозге человека находятся два миндалевидных тела, расположенные с правой и левой стороны. Это очень интересная подкорковая мозговая структура, которая связана с формированием разного рода эмоций.

Анастасия: Да, на сегодняшний день науке уже известно, что миндалевидные тела отвечают за способность считывать информацию с лиц окружающих людей. Таким образом, человек подсознательно понимает, как эти люди себя чувствуют в данный момент. Но сам механизм считывания информации учёным пока до конца не ясен.

Ригден: Понятное дело, ведь это считывание, как и многие другие функции миндалевидных тел, связано с работой боковых Сущностей человека в его энергетической конструкции. В физическом теле функции миндалевидных тел связаны с вегетативными эмоциональными реакциями, обеспечением оборонительного поведения, мотивацией условно-рефлекторного поведения.

Из книги «АллатРа»


Эксперимент был проведён на лабораторных животных. В определённых ситуациях одни самцы мышей получали слабый заряд тока, формирующий неприятные воспоминания. Других подселяли к самкам, позволяя получить приятные эмоции. Затем учёные проверяли, как работает мозг грызунов, когда требуется вспомнить о каких-либо событиях из прошлого.

В ходе эксперимента удалось выяснить, что за плохие и хорошие воспоминания в нашем мозгу отвечают не только различные участки базально-латерального комплекса, но также и сигнальные пути, благодаря которым эти воспоминания запускаются в мозгу. За так называемые «нейроны радости» ответственен ген ppp1r1b, в то время как за «нейроны грусти» – Rpso2. Интересен тот факт, что учёные давно обнаружили связь между позитивными картинками с ppp1r1b, в то время как Rpso2 до сегодняшнего момента практически не изучен.

Миндалевидное тело неплохо изучено нейрофизиологами, однако остаётся ещё много неразрешённых вопросов. Это орган парный – в каждом полушарии располагается по миндалине. Миндалина имеет несколько ядер: некоторые из них отвечают за обработку обонятельной и вкусовой информации, другие регулируют эмоциональное поведение. Также имеются данные, что миндалина участвует в распознавании эмоциональной значимости объекта и различении благоприятных и опасных ситуаций.

Миндалевидные тела

 

Миндалину можно “перепрограммировать” с помощью медитаций

Если человек находится в медитативном состоянии – активность миндалевидного тела снижается. Эти данные удалось получить с помощью экспериментов, в которых принимали участие люди, не имеющие медитативного опыта.


Схема «быстрого» эмоционального ответа  миндалиныВ первом эксперименте, всего после одной недели практики, – в ответ на изображение с негативным подтекстом активность правой миндалины была снижена. Во втором эксперименте принимали участие люди с синдромом хронической тревожности. Через 8 недель курса медитаций при предъявлении эмоционально-негативных стимулов активность миндалины быстро возвращалась в фоновое состояние.

Ещё более интересные данные удалось получить во время проведения исследований с теми, кто практикует медитации давно. Чем больше часов практики имел испытуемый, тем меньший уровень активизации правой миндалины наблюдался в ответ на негативно направленный эмоциональный раздражитель.

Но что удивительно, в другом эксперименте с опытными практикующими, где испытуемых просили сосредоточиться на эмоционально-негативном стимуле, подобного изменения в функционировании миндалины не происходило.

В результате учёные сделали вывод, что медитации не столько влияют на отношение человека к какому-либо негативному воздействию, сколько меняют всю систему обработки эмоциональной информации. Говоря другими словами – люди становятся более спокойными и невозмутимыми в обычной жизни.

Сегодня есть данные, свидетельствующие о том, что практика медитации эффективна в сфере эмоционального регулирования, поэтому позволяет:

  • снизить частоту и интенсивность эмоциональных реакций;
  • уменьшить тревожность;
  • повысить устойчивость к стрессовым ситуациям;
  • выработать терпимость к неприятным стимулам.

Это не полный список результатов, которые были получены после научных исследований, однако даже на основе вышеприведенной информации можно судить о том, что практика медитации способна снизить эмоциональную возбудимость, уменьшить уровень тревожности, стресса и депрессивных состояний.

Источники:

  • https://med.news.am/eng/news/12133/neuroscientists-identify-two-neuron-populations-that-encode-happy-or-fearful-memories.html
  • http://realmindfulness.ru/2013/01/meditaciya-emocii-i-mindalevidnoe-telo/
  • https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23125828

Автор: Ольга Черная

Мне нравится 43

Подписаться на новости



Учёные выяснили, что мозг хранит положительные и отрицательные воспоминания раздельно - Рейтинг темы: 5.00 из 5.00 проголосовавших: 43
Похожие статьи:


Оставить комментарий
AllatRa.TV онлайн


Напутствие дня

Фантастика — это всего лишь нереализованная реальность.


Календарь событий

Концепция